MCA Records


The 1990 film Pump Up The Volume has a plot that goes a little something like this: Mark (Christian Slater) is an intelligent but shy teenager who has just moved to Arizona from the East Coast. His parents give him a short-wave radio so he can talk to his pals, but instead he sets up shop as pirate deejay Hard Harry, who becomes a hero to his peers while inspiring the wrath of the local high school principal. When one of Harry's listeners commits suicide and Harry-inspired chaos breaks out at the school, the authorities are called in to put a stop to Harry's broadcasts.

Soundgarden once again shares the soundtrack honors with completely unrelated artists, such as Ivan Neville. The track list is as follows:

  1. Concrete Blonde - Everybody Knows
  2. Ivan Neville - Why Can't I Fall In Love
  3. Liquid Jesus - Stand
  4. The Pixies - Wave Of Multilation (UK Surf)
  5. Peter Murphy - I've Got A Secret Miniature Camera
  6. Bad Brains w/Henry Rollins - Kick Out The Jams
  7. Above the Law - Freedom of Speech
  8. Soundgarden - Heretic
  9. Sonic Youth - Titanium Expose
  10. Cowboy Junkies - Me and the Devil Blues
  11. Chagall Guevara - Tale O' The Twister (CD only)

"Heretic" is a non-album track that appeared earlier in Soundgarden's career, actually as early as 1985, on the Deep Six compilation. For that recording, however, Scott Sundquist was the drummer, so it was rerecorded in December 1988 at London Bridge in Seattle with the revised lineup (which at that time included Hiro Yamamoto on bass). It was also given a new mix by Steve Fisk. Presumably, this is the version that appears on the Pump Up The Volume soundtrack.