Arista Records


Feb 04 1993

No Alternative, released in February 1993 by Arista Records, is a nineteen-song compilation that featured two different covers; the first, above left, has a young girl on it, and the second, above right, has a little boy on it. The liner notes say that the bands on the comp "have helped awaken the world to the fact that music not only has the power to speak to a generation but for a generation." The notes also cite the common thread that binds all of the tracks together: "integrity." No Alternative is an AIDS awareness and fundraising production by the Red Hot Organization. Track 19 is Nirvana's "Verse, Chorus, Verse" -- note that it is not listed anywhere in the liner notes, appearing as a "hidden" bonus song.
  1. Matthew Sweet - Superdeformed
  2. Buffalo Tom - For All To See
  3. Soul Asylum - Sexual Healing
  4. Urge Overkill - Take A Walk
  5. American Music Club - All Your Jeans Were Too Tight
  6. Goo Goo Dolls - Bitch
  7. Pavement - Unseen Power Of The Picket Fence
  8. Smashing Pumpkins - Glynis
  9. Bob Mould - Can't Fight It
  10. Sarah McLachlan - Hold On
  11. Soundgarden - Show Me
  12. Straitjacket Fits - Brittle
  13. Barbara Manning - Joed Out
  14. The Verlaines - Heavy 33
  15. Uncle Tupelo - Effigy
  16. Beastie Boys - It's the New Style
  17. The Breeders - Iris
  18. Patti Smith - Memorial Tribute
  19. Nirvana - Verse, Chorus, Verse

Soundgarden's "Show Me" was not a new song when it appeared on the No Alternative compilation in 1993. It was, in fact, written by Ben Shepherd and recorded in 1991 at Avast Studio in Seattle. It appeared previously as a b-side on two "Rusty Cage" singles and one "Outshined" single.