Jul 02 1996

MOM (Music For Our Mother Ocean) was recorded to benefit the Surfrider Foundation, which is "a non-profit environmental organization dedicated to the protection and enhancement of the world's waves and beaches through conservation, activism, research and education." The CD features 21 tracks from artists as varied as Jewel and Helmet, and all proceeds go to the foundation. The songs are as follows:
  1. Pearl Jam - Gremmie Out Of Control
  2. Porno For Pyros - Bali Eyes
  3. Brian Setzer Orchestra - Honky Tonk
  4. Soundgarden - My Wave
  5. Beastie Boys - Netty's Girl
  6. Sprung Monkey - Good Times
  7. Silverchair - Surfin' Bird
  8. The Reverend Horton Heat - I Can't Surf
  9. Everclear - Hateful
  10. Gary Hoey with Donavon Frankenreiter - Wipeout
  11. The Ramones - California Sun
  12. 7 Mary 3 - Blackwing
  13. Common Sense - Never Give Up
  14. Pato Banton and The Reggae Revolution - Mama Nature
  15. No Doubt - Sailin' On
  16. Pennywise - Surfin' U.S.A.
  17. Blink-182 - Waggy
  18. Sublime - Badfish
  19. Primus - Mr. Know It All
  20. Jewel - Quiet Warrior
  21. Helmet - Army Of Me

Soundgarden's contribution, "My Wave," is not a new track, having appeared earlier on 1994's Superunknown and popping up in places like the trailer for Endless Summer II a couple of years ago. It was incorrectly reported by Surfer magazine that the comp would include a previously unreleased live version of "My Wave"; it's the same studio version that has been available before. For more information about the release, as well as sound clips, check out the MOM page at Surfdog's website.